Go Fuck Yourself, I Liked the RHPS TV Adaptation.

On Thursday, a new TV-broadcast version of the cult classic musical The Rocky Horror Picture Show aired. Among my friends, associates, followers, and peers, its very existence that day seemed to bring out the worst in many of them. Almost immediately my timeline on Twitter and Facebook was filled with disdain, hate, and negativity directed towards the project. And though I knew I wouldn’t be able to watch until Friday night, I could already tell that the negative reactions were absolutely not warranted. 

Flash-forward to today, when I watch the production at home with my fiance, and just sit baffled and kind of pissed at all the hate I saw people spewing towards the show. In no way was it a perfect production, but since when was RHPS ever about being perfect? So I’m here just to take a stand against what I saw as an unwanted, unneeded, and misguided wave of negativity towards the adaption. In short….

GO FUCK YOURSELF, I ENJOYED IT!

Let me explain why.

rs_640x360-161020195945-the_rocky_horror_picture_show__lets_do_the_time_warp_again-6_30_21_pm_-_6_30_23_pm-2016-10-20

Go Fuck Yourself, Laverne Cox Did Just Fine

Okay, maybe she wouldn’t have been my first choice, but by no means did she do a bad job. She was weird. She was sensual. She was attractive. All qualities I remember seeing in Tim Curry when I saw him as the mad doctor. I also dug the clear Gaga and Tina Turner influences she brought to the role. Sadly, the biggest complaint I’ve seen coming from people is that a woman shouldn’t play the character of Dr. Frank N. Furter and that pisses me off. The character is clearly meant to be the very epitome of gender fluidity and pansexuality. Literally anyone could play this role and it shouldn’t be an issue. Shut the fuck up.

Go Fuck Yourself, the Rest of the Cast Was Cool Too

I had a hard time with the modernized depiction of Columbia, and wished Adam Lambert’s Eddie had gotten more screen time, but other than that, I thought the cast owned their roles while still managing to pay respects to the iconic actors that are known “as” those characters. Special shout-outs to Victoria Justice, Ryan McCartan, and Reeve Carney; I loved their incarnations of Janet, Brad, and Riff-Raff.

rs_640x360-161020194155-the_rocky_horror_picture_show__lets_do_the_time_warp_again-6_14_45_pm_-_6_14_49_pm-2016-10-20

Go Fuck Yourself, the Music Changes Were Cool

When ‘Touch-a, Touch-a, Touch-a, Touch Me’ started out with that slight country guitar twang, I was all over it. And the Floor Show I thought was just amazing. I could have done without the changes to Rocky’s ‘The Sword of Damocles’, but otherwise I had no major complaints. 

Go Fuck Yourself, It Reminded Me of My First Time

I saw The Rocky Horror Picture Show for the first time… on TV! Yup. A few days before Halloween, just like this, in a dark living room. It aired on VH1, and this was back in the mid 90’s when the channel had been… sufferable. I watched it alone, as a young gay kid with very common young gay kid feelings, and even though it had clearly been sanitized for broadcast (even though it aired around 10pm), the story spoke to me and I was a fan from that very night. Nothing about this new production made me feel like I was watching something that “wasn’t the same”. I didn’t feel let down, or ripped off. I felt weird and happy.

Go Fuck Yourself, It Didn’t Sacrifice Sexuality for TV

This was a complaint I heard very often in the past 24 hours, and the one I was actually expecting to be true and to possibly be the one thing to drag the adaption down. After all, a major theme of the cult film is about sexual expression, so how could an adaption work without being somewhat sexual? Turns out, people don’t know what the fuck they’re talking about. This televised adaption had cleavage galore, legs spread everywhere, pelvic thrusts non-stop, and very clear scenes of same-sex touchings. The only noticeable deviations I can recall are the absence of Columbia’s nipples and the tight shorts/undies on Brad and Rocky. 

giphy

Go Fuck Yourself, It Was A MAJOR Win for Queer Acceptable Television

Rainbows everywhere, a transgender lead, and noticeable same-sex flirtations – for being on a major network (FOX of all places) and not airing past 9pm, this was a huge win for alternative sexuality being broadcast on a national level. Want to argue? Please give me examples of shows a family (or a young queer kid, hiding in their room alone before bedtime) could watch without also having to subject themselves to nudity, profanity, and violence. 

rs_640x360-161020194153-the_rocky_horror_picture_show__lets_do_the_time_warp_again-6_16_17_pm_-_6_16_21_pm-2016-10-20

Go Fuck Yourself, You Should Be Ashamed

Didn’t like it? Well, I’m sorry for you, but that’s your right to have such an opinion. Of course, it’s also my right to say that if you bash this, you’re a real shit RHPS fan and should know it. The movie, the stage show before it, and its amateur weekly productions world-wide keep certain themes and elements alive and sustained; acceptance, equality, freedom, expression, self-love, love for others, understanding. I could go on. But by bashing the television adaption down with so many negative comments, you’re slowly taking away from that magic. You’re making the film and story something that suddenly seems untouchable and sacred, which it never was, never has been, and never should be. It’s a story for everyone. A production proudly in the (for lack of a better term) public domain, that for years has included all kinds of outsiders and outcasts. So to say this adaption should have never happened is to say that the messages behind Rocky Horror should stop being spread, and I cannot stand by it.

Go Fuck Yourself, Brad Majors Gifs Because Daaaaammmnnnnnn

rs_640x360-161020195948-the_rocky_horror_picture_show__lets_do_the_time_warp_again-6_33_33_pm_-_6_33_35_pm-2016-10-20rs_640x360-161020201406-the_rocky_horror_picture_show__lets_do_the_time_warp_again-6_38_10_pm_-_6_38_12_pm-2016-10-20

Leave a Reply

